3 things for ASCs to know about federal deemed status, state recognition

The Joint Commission outlined three things to know about state recognition and federal deemed status.

Here are the three key insights:

1. For ASCs to receive payments from Medicare or Medicaid, they must adhere to government requirements, including a certification of compliance with the health and safety requirements called Conditions of Participation or Conditions for Coverage.

2. The certification is awarded through a state agency survey or through another body on behalf of the federal government.

3. ASCs that receive accreditation through a deemed-status survey by The Joint Commission have shown they meet Medicare and Medicaid requirements.

More articles on accreditation:
The Joint Commission offers 5 actions for creating a safe reporting culture
AAAHC-accredited center to know: Brecksville Surgery Center
Top trends in ASC accreditation deficiencies — 4 Qs with AAAHC experts

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers