7 things to know about the HFAP accreditation process

The Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program has CMS authorization to provide accreditation to ASCs.

Here are seven things to know about its accreditation process.

1. To apply for accreditation, healthcare facilities must submit an application, registration fee and required documents.

2. HFAP typically schedules surveys within 90 days of receiving the completed application and fees.

3. Facilities receive formal deficiency reports within 10 working days. They have 30 days to correct A-weighted deficiencies or HFAP standards deemed to have a "serious impact" on patient care, and 60 days to correct B- and C-weighted deficiencies.

4. If a facility receives a CMS condition level deficiency, it must submit corrective action to the Bureau of Healthcare Facilities Accreditation. After the submission is approved, the facility is subject to an unannounced resurvey.

5. Once the Bureau determines a facility is in compliance with the CMS conditions of participation, which is an A-weighted deficiency, it will take accreditation action.

6. HFAP provides three levels of accreditation:

  • Full accreditation is granted with resurvey within three years and indicates a facility satisfies accreditation requirements in all performance areas.
  • Interim accreditation indicates a facility generally meets standards, but certain areas need additional work to be compliant. This accreditation won't exceed 12 months.
  • Denial of accreditation indicates a facility was denied accreditation for failing to meet requirements.

7. Facilities are notified by mail of the accreditation level awarded.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast