HFAP appoints four members to board of directors — 5 notes

Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program selected Gary Ley as chair, Mark DeFrancesco as vice chair and Brock Slabach as secretary/treasurer of the Accreditation Association for Hospitals and Health Systems board of directors. Four additional members were appointed.

AAHHS is the managing entity of HFAP.

Here are five notes:

1. Mr. Ley owns Ley Executive Services, which provides executive support to healthcare organizations. He joined the AAHHS board in 2016. He served as Garden City (Mich.) Hospital's president and CEO for 26 years. Mr. Ley possesses eight years of experience as an HFAP surveyor and served eight years on the HFAP Bureau.

2. Board-certified gynecologist Mark DeFrancesco is past president of both the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care.

3. Mr. Slabach serves as senior vice president for member services at Kansas City, Mo.-based National Rural Health Association. He was previously Centreville, Miss.-based Field Memorial Community Hospital's CEO.

4. The AAHHS board also added four directors:

  • Roy Chew, PhD, president of Dayton, Ohio-based Kettering Health Network
  • James C. Morell, adjunct faculty at Chicago-based DePaul University's Driehaus College of Business
  • Patrick Palmieri, RN, professor at Universidad Norbert Wiener in Lima, Peru
  • Maria Sallie Poepsel, PhD, MSN, CEO of Columbia, Mo.-based MSMP Anesthesia Services

5. HFAP is a nonprofit accreditation program with deeming authority from CMS for acute care hospitals, critical access hospitals, clinical laboratories and ASCs.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast