HFAP launches joint replacement certification for ASCs & hospitals: 5 highlights

Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program rolled out its Joint Replacement Certification program to recognize inpatient and outpatient settings demonstrating excellence in specialized orthopedic care.

Here are five highlights:

1. HFAP created the certification in response to a growing number of patients undergoing joint replacement procedures.

2. The certification program includes different options to accommodate variations in patient populations and service provided at hospitals and ASCs.

3. Hospitals and ASCs pursuing HFAP's joint replacement certification must:

  • Hold current accreditation with deemed status or state Medicare certification
  • Meet state licensure requirements
  • Remain compliant with applicable HFAP certification standards
  • Define the population served by joint replacement program within its protocols
  • Provide at least 12 consecutive months of applicable performance measures (or one month of data prior to submitting an application for initial certification)

4. The certification encourages the adoption of practices that improve outcomes and reduce risk, according to HFAP CEO Meg Gravesmill.

"Through the certification process, organizations are asked to take a big-picture look at their program: how it is defined, who it serves, how well it achieves its goals. Then the HFAP standards focus down to processes and risk management strategies to ensure excellence in patient outcomes," Ms. Gravesmill said.

5. Joint replacement is projected to become the most common elective surgical procedure in the next few decades, according to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast