The Joint Commission, National Quality Forum present safety & quality awards — 5 facts

The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum bestowed John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards to Thomas Gallagher, MD, Children’s Hospitals’ Solutions for Patient Safety and LifePoint Health March 12.

Here are five facts.

1. Dr. Thomas Gallagher was awarded in the Individual Achievement category. He serves as professor and associate chair of the department of medicine Seattle-based University of Washington School of Medicine, where he is also a professor in the department of bioethics and humanities.

2. The Solutions for Patient Safety network of Columbus, Ohio-based Children’s Hospital earned recognition for Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the National Level. The group represents more than 130 affiliated children’s hospitals in the U.S. and Canada.

3. LifePoint Health’s National Quality Program, in Brentwood, Tenn., was named the winner of the Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the Local Level category. Through its system-wide learning laboratory, it reduced aggregate patient harm by 62 percent.

4. The John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards began in 2002 to honor the former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. The late Dr. Eisenberg was a founding member of NQF's board of directors.

5. The individual category recognizes exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety and quality through a substantive body of work. The national category recognizes projects or initiatives that involve successful system changes and interventions, while the local category recognizes projects that impact an organization local community, region or state.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.


Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast